SAXOFONIA - Purpura Pansa Saxophone Quartet

500.194 WWM
  • Description

Music of Andres & Francisco J. Valero-Castells

1. Saxofonía, op. 7 (Francisco J. Valero Castells)  6’50  

2. Boccheriniana, AV79 (Andrés Valero-Castells)  6’03

3. Solerianeta, AV71b (Andrés Valero-Castells)  6’10  

    (sax quartet + percussion)

Cuarteto nº2, AV41 (Andrés Valero-Castells)  12’42    

4. Mmmmi        2’28

5. Pentáfona     2’31

6.  para Lisa       2’26

7. Resumen provisorio   5’17

8. Divertimento, AV20 (Andrés Valero-Castells)  6’18   

9.  Preludio y fuga, AV42c (Andrés Valero-Castells)  6’40

    (double sax quartet)

10. Romance, AV31c (Andrés Valero-Castells)  6’26

      (alto sax + piano)

11. Adagio Mesto (Andrés and Francisco J. Valero-Castells)  6’19 

      (piano + sax quintet)
Totaal: 57’54


On this release compositions for saxophone by the brothers Andres and Francisco J. Valero-Castells. These promising Spanish composers have already earned their spurs. Andres has been awarded with many international composition prizes and he is also a director of several renowned Spanish wind bands. Francisco is graduated with honors for oboe and appears regularly as a guest soloist. Except musician and composer he is also an oboe teacher at the Conservatoire.

The works are Performed by Purpura Pansa, known as one of the best valued saxophone quartets in Spain.