500.195 WWM
  • Description

Royal Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides

Yves Segers, conductor

Arthur Prevost (1888-1967) has been one of the legendary conductors of the Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides.
In 1918 he was appointed to conductor and immediately he reorganized the orchestra completely. He was to bring the band to the level of the best professional wind bands
in the world.

Besides his crucial role in the development of the Royal Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides, Prevost should be remembered for three particular merits. Prevost composed a series of splendid marches, including several official military marches. He also urged all important Belgian contemporary composers to write for wind band and specially for the Belgian Guides. Prevost wrote a great number of thrilling transcriptions made to measure for the Guides.

On the occasion of the 125th anniversary of his birth, the band pays a tribute to Arthur Prevost with this selection from that unique patrimony.

1. Italia rhapsody (Alfredo Casella) 21’29
2. Prelude & Fugue in A minor BWV 543 (Johann Sebastian Bach) 11’18
3. Organ Symphony nr.5 - Toccata. (Charles-Marie Widor) 5’19
4. Psalm 141 “Voce mea ad Dominum clamavi” op. 47 (Mgr. Jules Van Nuffel) 8’07
5. Symphony for organ and orchestra nr.1 in D minor– Finale (Alexandre Guilmant) 8’06
6. Perpetuum Mobile – for clarinets and symphonic band (Carl Maria von Weber) 3’56
7. Symphony nr.4 (The Italian) – Part 4. Saltarello (Felix Mendelssohn) 6’20

Total time: 64’58 - All works transcripted by Arthur Prevost